Which chair for thi...

Which chair for this space?  

Page 1 / 3
  RSS

NULL NULL
(@nickmaxsportmotors-co-uk)
Estimable Member
12/06/2007 12:25 am  

Recently just sold my 670/671 so now have an empty space to fill. Over the last few months it has been occupied by a number of different Pierre Paulin chairs, the mentioned 670, a Panton relaxer, some Danish offerings from Wanscher and Wegner. I'd really like something special & I don't have a limited budget - please fire away with the options!!!

Two chairs I really like are the Hans Olsen Bikini (which would be too small)and Kjaerholm's PK20.

koen
 koen
(@koen)
Illustrious Member
12/06/2007 5:02 am  

I am not an interior designer
but it seems to me that the Kjaerholm PK20 requires a very coherent almost minimalist environment, whereas the Bikini is a more tolerant, friendlier design that would fit better with your other choices. I might be spreading some heresy here but I find that stainless or chromed frames do better on a wooden, stone or tile floor and wood does better on carpet. Another reason to choose the Bikini.
As a design I prefer the PK20 but...

ReplyQuote
James Collins
(@james-collins)
Illustrious Member
12/06/2007 5:22 am  

wood on carpet
Be an iconoclast, how about this startlingly modern 1935 chair by Russell Wright.

ReplyQuote
azurechicken (USA)
(@azurechicken-usa)
Illustrious Member
12/06/2007 5:42 am  

COUNTERPOINT
is the best choice in most cases...

ReplyQuote
Antonella
(@antonella)
Noble Member
12/06/2007 6:48 am  

Lady
I would put Lady in beige.
http://www.designdictionary.co.uk/ENG/lady.htm

ReplyQuote
SDR
 SDR
(@sdr)
Illustrious Member
12/06/2007 6:50 am  

I agree with
Koen's material pairings. Could this be a generational thing ? It's justifiable I think but just feels intuitive to me.