Eames Sofa Compact: new or vintage?  

RSS

DJV
 DJV
(@djv)
Eminent Member
04/04/2013 12:43 am  

Dear readers,
I'm considering to purchase an Eames Sofa Compact. But I've got some questions. Hope you can help. Four questions:
1. What's the best purchase / investment: buying a new one or a vintage one?
2. Are there any differences in production between a new and a vintage exemplar? For example, I know that the back of vintage versions can fold. Is this still the case with current new versions?
3. Has since its production in 1954 always been urathene foam used?
4. What upholstery is best? I am looking for a durable, not pilling, strong, beautiful, non-inflammable and nearly impossible to wear fabric. But I'm really a layman in this field. So what's best: polyester? vinyl? recycled polyester? pvc-free polyurethane? nylon? acrylic? polyoletin? wool? cotton? rayon?
Thank you for your help!
DV

barrympls
(@barrympls)
Illustrious Member
04/04/2013 10:28 pm  

My suggestion
before you actually buy one, go to a DWR or similar store where they might have one on their showroom floor and actually sit on the sofa. I found it quite uncomfortable, especially on my lower back.
I instead went for a Milo Baughman sofa, similar in shape to those made by Florence Knoll.

ReplyQuote
DavidR
(@davidr)
Estimable Member
06/04/2013 10:26 am  

Hey there, its very funny tha...