Page 1 / 2
  RSS

MSK
 MSK
(@msk)
Eminent Member
10/06/2009 2:26 am  

Hi
I have a client that is sure this chair is an "authentic something" from the late 60's early 70's - there is no tag. It is leather, walnut and quality made. I can't find anything similar - the sides are real cane - anyone have a suggestion for me?

Your help is appreciated -

Sound & Design
(@fdaboyaol-com)
Illustrious Member
10/06/2009 9:25 am  

Highly probable this was...
Highly probable this was made by an American manufacturer. Baumritter is a guess. A De Frutti original.

ReplyQuote
NULL NULL
(@teapotd0meyahoo-com)
Illustrious Member
10/06/2009 9:38 am  

Di Frutta
Second that!
110% guaranteed.

ReplyQuote
Brent
(@brent)
Illustrious Member
10/06/2009 10:10 am  

De Frutti? Are you sure?
I've never known an authentic De Frutti to use that kind of caning. In fact, I can't recall having ever seen caning on a De Frutti. I'm not an expert though--just wanted to convey my reservations and invite discussion.

ReplyQuote
Modern Love
(@modern-love)
Illustrious Member
10/06/2009 6:22 pm  

"Though Di Frutta
became renowned for his use of lycra, his early experiments did utilize cane, mesh, and patent leather."
From Di Frutta Di Gorgeous, L. Keir, 1994, pg 149.

ReplyQuote
LuciferSum
(@lucifersum)
Illustrious Member
10/06/2009 10:50 pm  

The extended and upright
The angles of the chair definitely recall some of DiFrutta's sculptural work - especially when the chair is extended in the reclining position.
I still am a little wary about a definitive attribution tho... Patent leather, lycra, spandex, poly-lycra blend...all of these materials I can see DiFrutta using...but wicker caning? Seems to go against his flamboyant swinging aesthetic.

ReplyQuote
NULL NULL
(@teapotd0meyahoo-com)
Illustrious Member
10/06/2009 11:00 pm  

"It don't mean a thing...
If it ain't got that swing." -DiFrutta, 1989

ReplyQuote
MSK
 MSK
(@msk)
Eminent Member
11/06/2009 3:51 am  

Thank You