Design Addict

Cart

Split side rails - ...

Split side rails - Moller 78s  

RSS

gringojoe
(@gringojoe)
07/06/2021 2:18 pm  

Hello all - I'm a noob looking for some help. I've had a good search through past topics but haven't found anything, so hopefully I'm not covering old ground. 

I recently bought a set of six Moller 78 chairs in rosewood. My dream chairs. They need recording which I knew when I bought them. What I hadn't spotted was that five of the six chairs have split side rails where the nails were all put in (originally from the looks of things) in too straight a line and the wood has subsequently dried out. In a couple of cases the splits go right the way through to the other side. The funny thing is that all the chairs are rock solid to sit on. 

I'm worried about the additional stress I might put on the wood by straightening out the nails to record the chairs - let alone if some snap and I have to bang new ones in. On the other hand I'm worried that if try and get some woodglue in the gaps and clamp it I might somehow narrow the pieces of wood and loosen the joints that are currently tight. I guess I want to stabilise the wood in its current state, with the nails in situ, neither compressing nor expanding the rails from how they are now. Is that right? And if so what is the best way to go about it? Or should I be looking at something else entirely?

Many thanks for any advice

1623068290-DSC_0126.jpg

tktoo2
(@tktoo2)
Illustrious Member
07/06/2021 7:40 pm  

@gringojoe, Advise not trying to do anything at all until after you've stripped the old cord and confirmed that the splitting in fact presents a problem. I suspect it won't. The splitting parallel to the grain as shown in your photo will not affect the structural integrity of your seat rails in any way and is considered a normal condition for older chairs.