Cart

Refinishing Advice ...

Refinishing Advice on Baughman Desk and Cherner Chairs  

RSS

mark737
(@mark737)
Illustrious Member
04/02/2019 10:30 pm  

Baughman desk for Glenn of California:  finish is worn off in a few areas on front around drawers,  and overall finish is a bit dull and uneven.

Cherner Chairs:  finish is mostly worn off on two chairs and they have some water staining. I believe these are early versions based on 2-inch waist.  I have another pair of upholstered Cherners with 3-inch waists that are finished in a reddish-brown stain     

I'd love to hear your advice on refinishing these (or not) .  I plan to keep and use the chairs and sell the desk.  Thanks    

1549315808-DAForum.jpg

Browkin
(@browkin)
Famed Member
07/02/2019 1:05 pm  

All I can think of is sanding with a very fine sandpaper and then oiling. I would try it on the chair first. Maybe even on the inner side of the chair leg.
But I am not an expert. The probability is high that one causes irretrievable damage.

ReplyQuote
Spanky
(@spanky)
Illustrious Member
09/02/2019 7:48 pm  

I wrote a detailed response to this thread a few days ago but now it's not here.  Maybe it never was here, I don't know.  This place is kind of a mess right now.

Anyway.  Looks like a tinted lacquer finish.  Lacquer doesn't wear off evenly, it chips and flakes as it loses its bond with the wood from being dinged, banged up, getting wet and maybe even too cold or too dry.  Tinted lacquer was often used on light colored wood species to give them the look of walnut or teak or even wenge---still is, sometimes. 

There isn't a good way to restore it, at least not for amateurs.  A pro might be able to dissolve the lacquer enough to spread it around but that's very tricky to do.  It dissolves within seconds of applying acetone and due to extremely rapid evaporation rate, it will dry before you can even spread it.