Cart

Mogens Koch Safari ...

Mogens Koch Safari Chair ?  

Page 2 / 2
  RSS

Dalloway
(@dalloway)
23/08/2017 12:23 am  

Thanks. Here's one last link-- http://1930.fr/mogens-koch-iconic-safari-chair.html -- which brings the number of comparable chairs (with many of the same variations) up to 5. I'm not suggesting that this is evidence of anything except that somebody, whoever it was, seems to have reproduced this particular design a number of times , wherever it originated.

I actually quite like this version of the chair--better than some of the authenticated ones. I had no idea what it was when I bought it and paid less than $100 for it, so I'm not expecially invested in its being an original, just curious about its origin and history.

ReplyQuote
DrPoulet
(@drpoulet)
Illustrious Member
23/08/2017 12:30 am  

Searching "Valmazan Sarreid Ltd" on the internet, it appears that I was a producer of brassware and silverware. The logo you can find on some of the stuff matches yours. Many of the items from this brand are Made in Spain or somehow have the mention of Spain.

Back to the MK16, here are a few documents that could help you:.

1. Den Store Danske M

ReplyQuote
cdsilva
(@cdsilva)
Illustrious Member
23/08/2017 12:51 am  

"wood seems to be beech... proof of early manufacturing"

It's certainly proof of something...

Dalloway, I'm glad you posted this chair. I was not aware of it, and it is turning into a very good case study. I had previously skimmed over the details of other manufacturers and was more interested in my own Interna version. By examining these other versions more closely over the last couple of days, I now have a better grasp of all of the important details.

It reminds me of some Wegner Round Chair threads from a few years ago. Most of those chairs were vintage knockoffs as well, but studying all the details at the time now makes Round Chair reviews go very quickly for me.

ReplyQuote
Dalloway
(@dalloway)

ReplyQuote
Dalloway
(@dalloway)