Cart

Tips and Tricks For...

Tips and Tricks For Identifying Furniture Marked With Numbers  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS

Detroitism
(@detroitism)
06/10/2015 6:59 pm  

Hello. Long time reader, first time poster. I've been reading this website forever and have learned so much from the members on this forum that you're one of my top go-to reference sources when I'm stuck. I'm stuck, but before I ask for advice I want to preface by saying that I'm not a design expert but an OCD researcher and risking wasting the members time by posting a question here is only ever a last resort.

Question: Does anyone have any tips or tricks that might aid in identifying a piece of furniture that's factory stamped with serial numbers/job numbers, but without a maker's mark or store mark?

I know step 1 is evaluating the style, era and researching designers and particular collections that came out. I've researched step 1 to death including calling furniture companies. I've researched the item using the various numbers marked on the piece in search terms. Empty.

Does anyone have a tip on how to use the numbers on furniture? Is there a database? Is there a particular phrase as a search term more productive than the millions of search terms I've been trying?

I'm certain you smart people could identify the item but I'm guessing an answer to my question might be a little more difficult? Thank you in advance.

leif ericson - Zephyr Renner
(@leif-ericson)
Illustrious Member
06/10/2015 9:24 pm  

The best way to research the numbers is to post a bunch of well lit, sharp, good looking photos of the piece of furniture, starting with the good looking angles and going down into the ugly stuff like the back, sides of drawers, undersides, insides, bottoms of feet, and random marks, including said numbers.
And then you hope that some helpful person recognizes something or everything and tells you what they know.

ReplyQuote
NULL NULL
(@sandystevecomcast-net)
06/10/2015 9:27 pm