Design Addict

Cart

Repair some weather...

Repair some weather battered garden table, bench and chair set  

RSS

alisawhite009
(@alisawhite009)
17/02/2015 6:19 am  

Hi, I want to repair some weather battered garden table, bench and chair set. It has had some in places, so I will be replacing the severely rotten sections, and scraping out the rot from the partially damaged pieces.My intention, with the partially damaged sections it to use a wood hardner to firm up the remaining wood, and then fill the gaps with a wood filter.Once the wood filler has dried, I will be painting the whole set to hide the filled pieces.I have limited experience in this area, so I would like to know if there are any caveats or gotchas to be aware of. 

tktoo
(@tktoo)
Illustrious Member
17/02/2015 3:23 pm  

These types of repairs are cosmetic only and will not restore structural integrity. They also tend to be relatively short-lived exposed to weather unless well protected by a proper film finish or paint job. If it's minor surface rot, OTOH, this technique may be viable. A few pics might help.

ReplyQuote
Spanky
(@spanky)
Illustrious Member
17/02/2015 4:53 pm  

If you're talking about the Minwax (I think?) wood hardener and expoxy filler, I say go for it.  I used that stuff on rotted window frames in a 1910 house and it's pretty amazing.  I used it on an exterior door frame in the same house where I had to put a new lockset in and the old holes didn't match up at all.  A carpenter told me that the filler would shrink after awhile and gaps would open up--well, it didn't and the door still looked and functioned like a solid piece of wood years later.  
That's been my experience with this stuff.  I'd try it if I had what you have.

ReplyQuote
NULL NULL
(@tioramdesignyahoo-com)
Honorable Member
19/02/2015 5:44 pm