Design Addict

Cart

Refinishing/re-upho...

Refinishing/re-upholstering Eric Buch Model 49 Teak Chairs  

RSS

mtd240
(@mtd240)
15/06/2016 11:01 pm  

Disclosure: I have no experience with upholstery, but would like to learn. I am an engineer, am "handy" (mostly automotive work, mostly Volvo 240s), and love restoring old beat-up things. My wife and I love mid-century modern design. This post is a bit long, but I figure the more information I put out there, the more helpful responses I will get.
Picked up a set of 6 chairs this past weekend (see pictures). Disassembled them, scrubbed with mineral spirits, and then applied some teak oil. They look pretty decent, probably should have sanded them down a little, but they don't need to be super smooth I guess.
They are covered in black vinyl right now, but it is pretty beat up, especially on the seats - lots of small cuts/tears/holes. Foam/padding feels good. Question 1: What sort of vinyl would you all recommend using to reupholster the chairs (My wife and I plan on using them as dining room chairs, with kids, so I think wool is out)? Based on scrolling through online pictures, I think black or a very dark gray would look great. You all have a lot more experience though. Looking for brand and source, mostly. I have looked on Modern Fabrics, and found a dark gray Maharam Ledger vinyl, with good wear numbers (>100k), but have no idea if it would work.
I have no experience with upholstery, so I talked to a local shop. I have three options:
1. They reupholster everything: $130/chair, plus materials ($15/yard surcharge if I bring my own). 1.5 yards per chair.
2. Only have the shop do the backrests: $65/ea. The seat bottoms look like something I could do myself, as a "first upholstery project". Could save a few hundred bucks.
3. Only reupholster the seats, and do them myself. Would have to find a black vinyl that matches the backrests decently (perhaps not too hard). Would save a ton of money.