Eames Upholstery  

Page 2 / 2
  RSS

Antiquari
(@antiquari)
10/01/2014 6:04 pm  

Eames Upholstery
Hi there
I am new to this blog but I have noticed your post as I also have a couple of Eames PACC upholstered office chairs that I was thinking about getting recovered.
I actually got in contact with Eames Designs and was told that they tend to work with a guy called Graham Mancha, who does a lot of work with Eames Design. The website is: www.mancha.demon.co.uk. I think this is worth a try, especially if you consider that the upholstery on these chairs was not applied by traditional technique so it is tricky to find someone who may be able to do it well.
I hope this helps!

ReplyQuote
NULL NULL
(@yourmommogmail-com)
Eminent Member
10/01/2014 6:19 pm  

I've tried
I've done it with an Eames side shell, and it took me like 5-6 hours and I wasn't able to clean up the fiberglass very good. When I put on the fiberglass conditioner, Penetrol, the fiberglass gets dark and when I wipe it off it stays dark and blotchy. Maybe it's just mine, but to me it was still worth buying.

ReplyQuote
zakknafein
(@zakknafein)
Eminent Member
25/06/2014 5:39 pm  

new life for eames chairs
Hallo, i've been visiting desingaddict for quite some time. Never took part in Forum, but now it is a time. I recently bought (cheap) two eames upholstery chairs. They were cheap so i didnt bother about the condition of the upholstery, thinking that - worse case scenario I scrab it out. Unfortunately (since i both them online) I didnt realize that they do have mounts (so no screw holes) but also one big "ventilation" hole. I would like to ask for a feedback what could I do to this chairs to bring them back to life. Is there a sense even to take the upholstery off?
Upholstery is dirty, also isn't "glued" to the foam. Foam it's not in very good condition (50y old)- looks a bit like an old jacket on skeleton.
1. wanted to wash the upholstery with .. sth (need to make resarch) and leave the foam as it is