Design Addict

Cart

How to revive this ...

How to revive this Mogensen leather armchair?  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS

Arjen
(@arjen)
24/09/2016 12:44 am  

Two days ago I wrote about my former project of the Danish cupboard. Now, I'm offered the chance to acquire a Mogensen leather chair, which is quite worn out. I have only one picture, rather poor, available unfortunately.
I'm not quite sure about its identification. But my main worry for now is about the condition of the leather. I have no experience with reviving leather, so any help is welcome. Do you think it can be done? As far as I know now, there are no scars or severe damages.
By the way, I've already read some older threads here about the topic. But since this chair has a particular red colour, I'd like to ask advice here. Suggestions are welcome!

leif ericson - Zephyr Renner
(@leif-ericson)
Illustrious Member
24/09/2016 8:03 am  

It looks right to me for a Mogensen. And I think it looks kind of perfect as is.
But if you really want to even out the coloration of the leather, you can pour some acetone on a rag and wipe down the leather. Acetone dissolves fast so you will have to keep pouring it on the rag. This will dissolve the glaze that is on top of the leather, and the dye too, and eventually you should build up enough dye on the rag that you can wipe some dye onto the light places.
Once you've done this you might decide the color looks good, or you might want to get some alcohol based leather dye. You will need to re-dye the entire chair, though. So do not think you can put the dye on a couple of spots.
And then finally you will need to get leather glaze and wipe it on.

ReplyQuote
Spanky
(@spanky)
Illustrious Member
24/09/2016 5:39 pm